Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Some Climate Control Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2016, 09:14 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 142 Likes on 113 Posts
Default Some Climate Control Questions

I'm still learning about the D2 so bare with me here. On a recent road trip my heat was playing games with me while driving. At first I set the auto feature to 20 on both sides. This was before I figured how to switch the read out to Fahrenheit. The heat would come out fine for awhile then randomly start blowing cold air. So I assumed the "auto" feature was being screwy I set the fan speed and air direction manually. Same symptom. The system would randomly switch from hot air to cold air and back again with no change in read out from the panel. There seemed to be no pattern or reason for the change. It was snowing and 20 degrees out at the time so this was less than fun.

Is there a diagnostic procedure to this system? All the threads I've searched turn up a panel that doesn't work or in op. Or a no heat issue from a thermostat. My control panel seems to be working fine. And I know I have heat as long as the system allows it to come out. Also is there a way to silence that stupid beeping everytime I push a button?

Old 01-10-2016, 10:03 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 971 Likes on 646 Posts

I had a similar problem where my heat would stop working if I came to a stop but it would work while I was driving or when I revved the engine up. It ended up being air in the lines. I'd say try bleeding the cooling system again, that could very likely be your issue.

Old 01-10-2016, 10:06 AM
Baja
Received 721 Likes on 626 Posts

Press "auto" and "reclining man"/fan zone button and hold down till flashing stops. It will show you fault codes if you have any.

Old 01-10-2016, 10:07 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 58 Likes on 55 Posts

Have you tried setting it on "ECONOMY" instead of "AUTO" mode , & see what happens,?