Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Various considerations with trail driving

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 12:11 AM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Various considerations with trail driving

I was up in Colorado last week. The Ouray area specifically. I have never done any trails before and really had no idea what the various ratings were. I also was not sure what my rover was capable off with no modifcations but terra grapplers. We rented a 4 door rubican (sorry) to just get an idea. The place sent us ona trail that was mostly 2 but got up to a 4 toward the top. It was Yankee boy basin. I had alot fo fun. Interested in what modifications can be made or have to be made for that type of trail.

Lift?
Larger tire?
Skid plates?
If you do a lift do you need to upgrade the axel?
When you do a lift should you convert to shock and spring at that time?

Has any on here done the Yankee boy basin? I have a yakima roof rack system on the top now for the kayak. So mostly just interested in the upgrades for hitting the trails. Like I said it was a good time.

Thnaks for any pointers

Oh and I had posted some time back with all sorts of problems. I am happy to say that I found a great mechanic and between him and some work myself the truck is currently sound. No service engine soon or amigos etc... No major leaks just running well. Drove it from OKC to Ouray and she ran like a champ.

Old 07-17-2012, 12:39 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

all i've added to my rig so far is Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs, and she'll keep up with all but the most extreme jeeps. i obviously can't do big rock crawling due to ground clearance and suspension travel, but i'm sure you could have done anything that jeep did.
my future add ons are a Center Locking Diff, front and rear air lockers, 2" OME lift, winch bumpers, and skid plates. after all that...she'll be ready for anything.