Freelander Talk about the Land Rover Freelander within.

03 Freelander Rough Idle

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2014, 09:36 AM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 Freelander Rough Idle

Ok guys I'm a noob with a nood question. I have an 03 Freelander with Kv6 engine. She was running fine but started the knocking everyone on this forum talks about along with the codes telling me it was the intake motors. So I ordered the motors and replaced them. Very easily done, unplug each motor, 4 screws out each motor, clean the area, put motors in making sure pegs aligned, 4 screws in done! Cleared out codes.

Now I see my engine bay is pretty dusty and decide to spray the engine clean with the hose. Quick spray to knock the dust off and the leaves that had piled up around the vents.

Get in the car, and start... she purrs like a kitten for about 5 secs then starts to putter and rough idle. Its a little better with AC on but she's died on me twice just going around the block. So my question is... Did I screw up changing the intake motors or did I just introduce too much moisture to the electronics? No codes now cause I'm too scared to drive her for any period of time. I've check the ignition coils and plug wires and all seem dry and snug. So I'm left dumbfounded with what to try next.

Any suggestions? Please help. I know she's a pain but I really love my Freelander! She's my weekend girl and I miss her.

Old 06-03-2014, 10:49 PM
Mudding
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts