General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Calling all Range Rover experts for your opinions!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2009, 04:08 AM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Calling all Range Rover experts for your opinions!!

I'm not very experienced with cars and I need to get some expert advice really.

I'm looking at getting a Range Rover Sport. We're considering either the 07 TDV6, it's got enough power, etc for us, but we've found for a similar price slightly older versions of the V8 petrol and even a Supercharged version.
In my basic logic, getting a better car for the same money makes sense. But I've had some advice from people who suggest the following:
(a) A diesel engine will last longer and have a better resale value than the petrol versions
(b) The running costs of the petrol versions will be much higher
(c) Someone suggested a LPG conversion of the petrol versions to combat the additional costs.

Any advice from you experts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Old 06-02-2009, 10:24 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

(a) Diesel engines do generally have better resell values. I wouldn't say it makes a huge difference with Rover's, seeing as they depreciate quickly to begin with. As for the diesel having a longer life... diesel and petrol engines, in automobiles, generally have about the same lifespan when properly maintained.

(b/c) lpg is cheaper in the long run. I think lpg is generally about half the price of petrol (i'd compare it wherever you live) but the conversion isn't cheap and unless you're planning on driving it for quite a while it may not be worth it. Crunch the numbers and see what you come up with.

Keep in mind a S/C gets worse gas mileage. Personally, since it's an option where you live, i'd get a lpg conversion if you plan on keeping it long. Otherwise, since they're around the same price, i'd say go for the newer TDV6.