General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car shopping - Land Rover Questions from Noob

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2009, 12:31 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car shopping - Land Rover Questions from Noob

Hey Guys,

I've always found forums to be a wealth of knowledge, from my Triumph Motorcycle, to mountain bikes, to cooking recipes. I just searched for Range Rover Forums on msn and got here pretty quickly, after reading a few posts you guys seem pretty knowledgeable.

My wife and I are on the hunt for a new car. I live in Denver, CO and I'm a traveling salesman for lack of a better description. I drive about 30-50,000 miles a year.

That said, I LOVE the Range Rover HSE, i love the sport more, but i don't think I really need all that.

I'm looking for a car that will be reliable when I'm 2000 miles away from home, one that will hold up with the miles start racking up. I know all cars have their problems, and one can never foresee if their getting a lemon or not.

I guess my ultimate questions is; is the Range Rover for the guy who could go to the dealership and buy one new? The guy who loves the car so much that he can put up with paying $1200 for an alternator? I ask because that guy is NOT me, lol I'm looking at spending about 20k and I've found a few RR's for that price with around 50k miles. My car im trading in has 220k on it.

A few others; are they terrible on gas mileage? How well do they do in the snow? Are they comfortable for long distances?

Any and ALL input you guys wnat to throw out here will greatly help me out. - if it helps my other car options im looking at are the Toyota 4Runner, an older Chevy Tahoe, a Nissan Pathfinder , i guess all the mid to full size SUV's out there.

Thanks fellas.

Old 01-13-2009, 10:19 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Car shopping - Land Rover Questions from Noob