General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant Light Flashing

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2011, 02:15 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant Light Flashing

This may have been covered somewhere, but don't have time for extensive searching...

my 89 Range Rover, over the last 2 weeks has had some issues. First the Coolant Light went on. Added more coolant - not much and it went off.

Yesterday, it went back on. This time when I checked, it seemed to be a bit full. So, using the manual and the RAVE manual, I went ahead and drained and flushed it...(biggie for me as the hubby usually does this sort of thing)...but the instructions were pretty much step by step.

Now, the damn light is blinking...

I cannot find any leaks - mind you I am NOT a mechanic...but that tell-tale green color makes it easy to see.

The Idle has also seemed to drop a bit - sometimes so quiet that I wonder if it stalled...has stalled out a couple of times...

Now, after putting all the fluids in and making sure that the clamps are tight and such...the light still flashes.

We got it with 52,xxx miles on it, and it not quite at 55,000. The book says that it is due for a service at 52,000...could it just need a servicing?

I have read that this could indicate the need for a cylinder head job...???

Don't know what to do. It is NOT overheating...I took a look as best as I could at the serpentine belt, and it is showing signs of wear...

Any suggestions?

THanks

Christine

Old 09-20-2011, 02:35 PM
Overlanding

Oh and this only started happening once I started using the heat...my driver side window stopped working - fixed that today myself too...but I had to drive around in the mornings with the heat on...only after that did this whole coolant light thing begin...

Heater core????

Thanks Again

Christine

Old 09-20-2011, 03:07 PM
Overlanding