General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

95 Disco HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2018, 12:44 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 95 Disco HELP!!!

Recently bought this truck and I'm new to Rovers but I have turned a lot of Jeep and Chev wrench. This has me stumped. Idles good and smooth with a slight surge and will rev without load fine. As soon as I think I figured it out and test drive it will putter out of the driveway but as soon as I try to throttle up to speed it falls on its face and backfires into the exhaust. Since I have been working on it and test driving it seems the problem is getting worse. When I bought it I had it delivered to town then drove it the 20 miles home. It was not running good but it was dark so I didn't realize how slow I was going until my wife asked me why I was going 30mph all the way (the speedo said 50-55). Anyhow, on my most recent test drive it wouldn't have made it half that distance.

Cleaned/replaced: MAF - before I cleaned the old one it would die when I unplugged, after I cleaned the old one it doesn't seem to matter if its plugged in or not, runs the same. Replaced the MAF - No change. New fuel filter, new cap and rotor, pulled and checked the plugs, they look good, cleaned the stepper valve, fuel pressure stays at a steady 33psi under load, timed, and rechecked and rechecked. I rotated all the plug wires one hole each way, when they are not in the proper position it won't even start. PO replaced the vacuum advance just before I bought it and the ignition module as replaced with the Chevy HEI style and is mounted next to the coil. PO said it has run that way for a while. Any suggestions please.

Old 02-12-2018, 11:52 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Would you cat or exhaust be blocked?
Check pre cat and cat temperature. I have seen up to 380Cª!!!

check air filter.