General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

climate control fan problems (Disco I)

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2007, 09:50 PM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default climate control fan problems (Disco I)

[align=left]Hi all, new to my LR. I just picked up a 97 SE7. The family and I all love it, but it has a long list of things for me to do- I got it as a project/toy so I expected some toying around. In passing I am a diesel mechanic- so I understand righty tighty.

The biggest concern right now is the blower. I get some heat at speed one and hear the motor kick on- but after that I don't know that speed two is any faster and speed 3 and 4 actually do nothing (squirel cage stops). Have you experts seen this before? I will be heading out with my multi-meter this week to check voltages at the motor etc. but hoping one of you has seen a basic issue with this before I disasemble my dash.

Tomorow after work the new battery goes in and I get a new jack (my only jack at home is for the Passat- and it gets my disco up about three inches.)

Next are my brakes. The truck came with a full set of rotors, pads, and some misc. hardware (from Atlantic British). Took it to some local shops to have them throw on the sets, and all the local brake shops are outrageous. I got the cheapest quote of $500 for labor (I supplied the parts). So off I go to do that one in the cold. LOL. I found the online articles- thanks to everyone on that one!