General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Cranking after sitting...

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2015, 09:31 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cranking after sitting...

Greeting rover family!

As mentioned above... Any way I can safely turn the disco over without metal on metal contact from sitting for about 8 months? I'm running some fresh Rotella T 15/30 I believe in the Bay Area on an incline.

I've read that in some cars I can disengage the fuse to the starter and prep the motor by turning the key to the on position to squirt some oil with own pump... Sadly, I am not a mechanic but I do love my truck and have grown a LITTLE competant thanks to YOUTUBE. please advise!

Cheers,
Rich

Old 04-22-2015, 09:52 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,512 Likes on 1,239 Posts

You could pull the plugs and put a squirt of marvel mystery oil in each cylinder. Than pull the fuel pump fuse and crank it over on the starter. To build oil pressure. Than re-install the fuse, to fire it up.

Old 04-23-2015, 12:29 AM
4th Gear

Thanks for the heads up! Any idea which one that may be on a 2001 Disco V8?

Old 04-23-2015, 07:21 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts

A Simpler way is to open the oil cap , use an oil can with a flexible line , squirt some oil ,or try to ...get some oil onto the rocker area , then start , and let idle ,don't rev the engine !!! then try to get it to a level surface ..

this is not different to parking up for one week /one month ...... it take a few hours for the oil to cool and run back down.. and oil does not evaporate when car is parked anyway.....the oil pump will do its job...

Last edited by justryan; 04-23-2015 at 07:23 AM.
Old 04-23-2015, 10:51 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

if the truck has been sitting 8-months there is no way to start it up without metal on metal contact; unless you pressurize the oiling system.