General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Disco 1 - Transmission Oil & Filter Change then Issues began

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2017, 04:24 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco 1 - Transmission Oil & Filter Change then Issues began

Hello, I recently got my hands on a semi neglected 97 TD Disco 1 with 350K on it. I have very little to no Disco knowledge and just want to use it as a daily drive and leave my other truck (not a disco) in the garage as a dedicated bush / camp vehicle.

This car is great to drive & I began a maintenance program when I got my hands on it. It actually has a full service history according to the service manual (with probably standard oil leaks) but the last service was well overdue by time not Km's & the paint work on the bonnet is in poor condition (which is why i use the term semi neglected) but the transmission fluid was reddish brown, was low when I got the car and the 'take up or clutch performance' was slow until I topped the fluid up.

Ive just dropped the pan, changed the filter and put new semi synthetic fluid into it.
  • DEXRON®-IIIH/G/F
  • Semi Synthetic
  • Mitsubishi MM SP3, ATF 3403, JASO 1A Chrysler 7176E (ATF+3®/4®)Toyota T-II/T-IV, Nissanmatic C, D, J
My car didn't have a fill plug in the pan so I used the dip stick tube to fill her up - resulted in an overfill I think but I drove it for a day (less than 100 km) dropped 3 litres out of & then topped it up to the correct level. Drives well no shudder seems ok. My problem is that now the auto does not select park (so I need to find neutral to start it) and while driving I can slip it back to 3rd but it will not return to drive.

The stick doesn't seem to select gears smoothly and I need to manipulate the button and move the shifter in order to find correct gears.

Any clues as to what has occurred. Help Advice Comments appreciated