General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Disco II Service engine soon, m & s lights, not starting...

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 06:33 PM
4wd High
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Disco II Service engine soon, m & s lights, not starting...

Hello and thank you in advance! Any help is appreciated as I live in the north where there aren't as many rovers or mechanics that are interested in working on them! I am also new to the world of LR and this is my first. Trying to be exact; gal here that is not mechanic but have tried to educate myself as much as possible.

I have a 2000 LR Discovery II. Last night returning home from work (vehicle was fine) I shut it down. Started back up again to change the C to F in the heating system. Chugged about 4 times (hard turn over) then started. Sounded tired. (Limp mode?) Immediately then the service engine soon light, M & S light (flashing) were on. I shut it down. Jumped on here to research. Prayed.

This morning, after what I read here on the forums, I checked the battery leads and they were loose. We tightened them. Tried starting- nothing at all. We cut the leads and put on brand new ones, tight! Gave it a try....turning over but not starting...So, that's something?

The gentlman that helped thinks it is the security system going into lock down. (I have no fob, was going to take of that this week) I am not so sure after all I have read. Since it responded (albeit slightly) to the new leads, couldn't it be battery, electrical related? (Manual says these two lights flashing is electrical fault with the automatic gearbox?)