General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

New to Forum - Question on Door Locks

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2004, 11:23 AM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Forum - Question on Door Locks

Hi - Newbie here. Looking for some help and glad I found this Forum. I have a 1999 Disco II, with 115K miles. Passenger side door locks recently quit working. First the rear passenger door and now the front passenger door. Will not open or lock with either using the the fob or the toggle on the dash. I did a search and couldn't find anything on this Forum.

Anyone have this problem and can you direct me to a solution. Many thanks - Happy Holidays.

Old 12-27-2004, 01:11 PM
Rock Crawling
Default RE: New to Forum - Question on Door Locks

Do they lock with the push button on each door?

Could be several things, one is the central locking motors have failed, or the cables are not getting the current required, i.e. a bad earth connection.

The rods have become disconnected from motor to door lock.. (Listen and see if you can hear the motor run when you lock the doors with the fob)

May just need a good greasing, using lock grease, though you may still have to take the door trim off to get to all the moving parts.

Old 12-27-2004, 01:54 PM
Overlanding

Hey thanks for getting back to me. The push buttons donot work either. Thanks for the tips. Happy New Year./

Old 12-27-2004, 02:15 PM
Rock Crawling

No problem and happy new year to you.

Sounds like you will have to take the door trim off though, not sure how it is done, but take it easy. My two landies don't have much in the way of trim.
First suspect would be the earth connection, as these go green over time, just need removing and a good brush with a wire brush.

Old 12-27-2004, 06:11 PM
Drifting