General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

No Sound from Speakers 2001 RR 4.6 HSE

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 01:33 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Sound from Speakers 2001 RR 4.6 HSE

Hello All, I am a newbie. I have a problem, I hope SOMEONE can help me with!! I've tried countless forums, and NO one has even attempted to help me! Anyway, here goes:

I have a 2001 Range Rover 4.6 HSE.A little background. About 1 month ago, my wife wasdriving and called me at home. She said thatshewas listening to the radio, and all of a sudden, a veryhigh pitched squeal came through all the speakers, and the sound went out. Now, it's been like that for about a month. I drive it to work, everyday, and listen to complete silence. Well, this weekend, we went out of town. The truck was at home. Whenwe came back, I was goingto go out in the truck, and the battery was dead. I usedthe car, to jump off the truck. When I jumped the truck off, I took it around the block to build the battery back up. For some reason, I turned the radio on...habit I guess?! But, guess what? The radio came on. It sounded SO good! I forgot how nice the system in that truck is!! I rode around for about10 mins. All of asudden, I hear this VERY loud high pitched squeal through all the speakers (obviously the same my wife heard) and the sound went out again. This time, the squeal continued after I turned the radio off, and even after I turned the truck off and took the key out. Then it stopped after a minute or so. I am baffled!!Obviously, the radio & cd changer work...obviously the speakers work. What in the world could be causing this? Has anyone else dealt with this??