LR2 Talk about the Land Rover LR2 within.

LR2 Front Differential Transfer Case Oil Drain Install Completed

Old 11-26-2018, 10:28 AM
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default LR2 Front Differential Transfer Case Oil Drain Install Completed

Hello. I am new to the LR2, but have been a mechanic for many years. Please don't judge too harshly. I walked into doing this mod with very little info to go on. I have gone through the trial and error so you don't have to.

This all started because I went to do all of the fluids in a new-to-me LR2 and discovered that because there is a gear literally right inside of the fill plug, suctioning the entire fluid amount, or even a good portion, was going to be impossible.

I have had enough experience with gear cases of all types to know that I was clearly looking at an unused drain plug boss when looking at the transfer case. Rather than drill straight through the bottom like is done with the typical Ford PTU, I took a right angle drill and and drilled and tapped through this very obvious area.