LR2 Talk about the Land Rover LR2 within.

No Start, No Crank --nothing

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2023, 08:15 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Start, No Crank --nothing

Hello, I'm new to this forum. I always wanted to own a Land Rover so I bought a 2008 Land Rover LR2 at an auction--most were repossessed. On the windshield it stated --"starter missing". I'm not a mechanic but I have turned alot of wrenches in my 62 years from minor to major repairs. Once I loaded it on a trailer I realized more was missing than just the starter. Cats missing, Starter missing, undercarriage shield missing. I ordered most all the necessrary parts and today I was hoping to hear it start/crank. It didn't happen even with new starter. The key fob is ok, I believe. The code came up --- HDC Fault System Not Available. I checked the battery and it is strong and even added a booster to get maxium voltage. So now I am looking all around to see if maybe the previous owner sabotaged something besides the starter, cats, etc before he lost it. I did notice that the fuel rail sensor wiring is missing. I think it goes from the fuel rail to something near the radiator? If anyone has any thoughts, I would appreicate any comments or possible solutions. I haven't checked if fire is getting to the starter yet, I'm not sure the diagram for the electrical system or fuses. How often does a "start button" goes bad? it is really a very nice looking LR2--exterior is almost flaweless and the interior has minor wear so i really would like to get this car running. It has around 147,000 miles on it.

Old 12-27-2023, 06:54 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 138 Likes on 115 Posts