LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

after degreasing engine P2105-00(2a) Throttle actuator control engine shutdown

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2023, 12:37 PM
Mudding
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default after degreasing engine P2105-00(2a) Throttle actuator control engine shutdown

Hello!
BLUF: after cleaning engine the engine runs very rough and I get a P2105-00(2a) throttle actuator control system-forced engine shutdown code."

I have a bit of an embarrassing situation- and need some guidance-
After a offroading activity, my engine was covered in dried mud so I decided to degrease it with degreaser. I sprayed the engine down, let it sit and then washed it off with low-pressure water from the hose. Nothing crazy.
I left the hood open to dry it. A few hours later fired it up and it had a really rough idle and threw the P2105-00(2a) code, cutting power to just the rough idle.
I tried to clear with the GAP tool to no avail.

I am not sure what happened, perhaps a short/water in the ignition coils?
The car was running fine (save for the Engine lean code that has been present for 1.5 years)
Has this occurred to anyone? particularly after rinsing the engine?
Thanks!
James

Old 09-23-2023, 04:59 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 73 Likes on 66 Posts

I'd start by blowing out and inspecting the throttle body to harness connection first if I were you. Also make sure that no water got behind the battery or into the fuse box.

In the future, you can minimize the risk of this sort of thing happening after cleaning/rinsing the engine bay by blowing out all the excess water after your rinse, and then as soon as possible running the engine to operating temp to evaporate any remaining water. Wrapping and/or avoiding any electrical connections helps too - and definitely stay far away from the battery box and the very water-vulnerable computers behind it.