LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Grinding Noise From Front Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2012, 11:12 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grinding Noise From Front Wheels

Hi--I love my 2006 LR3 (going on 80k!). I had the dealer replace both front lower control arm assemblies 3 weeks ago. All good (even covered by warranty). But recently, I started hearing a very soft, intermittent grinding sound from the front end. In the last 2 days, it's grown more noticeable, and is now actually loud. Seems to be coming from the wheels.

At off-road height, the sound gets much softer, then returns to loud at normal height. It's a low-pitched grinding sound when driving slow, and increases in pitch as I drive faster.

No doubt there is a problem here, and I'm going back to the dealer tomorrow. But my question is: Could this grinding sound be connected to the control arm assemblies that were just replaced?

As a professional composer, I'm pretty good at identifying the sounds I hear from my LR3, but still learning a lot about the mechanics of this amazing machine

Thanks for any help!

Old 03-12-2012, 09:31 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts

It would be wheel bearings, or differential noise. The wheel bearings require a hub change out as the bearings are pressed in. They might also have not tightened and locked your hub nut on. If it is the differential, then they will try to sell you the entire unit at a very high price. Don't fall for it.

This is not directly related to your problem at hand. It would also be a good idea to change your diff fluids (normally LR suggests first service at 75k) I suggest ever 20k. You should also change your transfer case oil and transmission fluid (consider a metal pan conversion).

This work can be performed at a qualified independent shop.

Old 03-12-2012, 11:34 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts