LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR3 on dunes

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2007, 02:29 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LR3 on dunes

Hi all.. new to the club... i am in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)...bought a new lr3 V6. would like to know howz it on the dunes...i noticed that when i put it on sand mode, and i raise the car to offroad mode...if i acceleratemore, as momentum needed on the sand, the suspension goes to normal height, anything that can be done to overcome that. also i am new to the landrover, so plz help with any tips on driving on the dunes and sand... thanks...

Old 06-12-2007, 10:43 AM
Winching
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: LR3 on dunes

While I do not claim to be an off road expert, I'll try to impart a bit of my little experience.

First thing I would do is get rid of the factory tires on your LR3 if it came with the same Wrangler HP's we get here in the US. Irecently spent a yearbetweenDubai and Kwuait and got a chance to do a lot of driving while overthere. The dunesin your areaare serious and sand driving conditionstends to be more of a matter of daily driving necessity than for fun as we do here in the US. Not sure if your LR3 came with 18" or 19" wheels but here in the states we like to go with 18' anytime any off roading is required with the vehicle which is certainly your case. The 18" wheels allow for more sidewall on the tire which is what you should look for in a good all- terrain tire. Low profile tires have no place in the desert!!
Now, with tires in mind, a lot of folks here in the US like Nitto Terra Grapplers. Others like me prefer Good Year Silent Armor tires which I would recomend in your case since I have seen first hand that the 120kph posted in your highways is only a "suggestion" at best . Both tires seem to be great off road but the Silent Armors have a great advantage on the highway over the Nittos. I would sugest 265/60/18, same size I use in my LR3.