LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lr3 led headlights / headlamps h7

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2017, 11:07 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lr3 led headlights / headlamps h7

Has anyone done the led conversion? I know the bulb size for our trucks is the h7 and there several available on amazon.com. Any recommendations? I'm confused on which decoders is needed to make them work. Go easy guys i'm kind of new at this

Old 08-09-2017, 01:35 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have my HIDs as standard position as they are designed to work with the headlight lens optic and run the EarthQuake Off-Road H7 LEDs for my high beams. They are melt the windscreen to oncoming traffic's faces bright! They are just plug and play though the clip to hold them in place is difficult but doable.

Old 08-09-2017, 04:27 PM
Winching
Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by kluckerz
Has anyone done the led conversion? I know the bulb size for our trucks is the h7 and there several available on amazon.com. Any recommendations? I'm confused on which decoders is needed to make them work. Go easy guys i'm kind of new at this
Most LR3s came with xenons. Those that didn't have halogens which are (almost always) brighter than LEDs. It's cool and all, but if you look at the lumen output it isn't even in the same universe.

Many sketchy Chinese vendors just random throw out lumen numbers. I've never seen an enclosed LED bulb that came within half the brightness of a halogen. The density isn't even possible - you need an array of high-power LEDs with suitable heat dissipation.

Old 08-09-2017, 05:00 PM
Three Wheeling

Originally Posted by EstorilM
Most LR3s came with xenons. Those that didn't have halogens which are (almost always) brighter than LEDs. It's cool and all, but if you look at the lumen output it isn't even in the same universe.