LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New rotor/pads - noise & heat ???

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2016, 01:59 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New rotor/pads - noise & heat ???

Swapped out the rotors and pads (set from Briitish Atlantic.) on my daughters '06 LR3 and bled the fluid as well.

Been maybe 300 miles - now I am noticing a sound that sounds like something rubbing the rotors - faint ringing.

Checked the rotors with the wheels on by dragging my fingers across them, looking for a groove - HOT. Shouldn't be this hot after 5-10 miles of driving.

Seems all four rotors are hot. The front more so.

I am a decent mechanic, followed all the how to's here and elsewhere. Everything seemed to go together well. Torqued everything appropriately. I made sure to center the metal clips so as not to rub the rotors.

Looking for advice from anyone who has been here already before I pull the wheels and inspect everything. Could this be normal break in period?

Thanks.

Last edited by bhmav8r; 02-23-2016 at 02:32 PM.
Old 02-24-2016, 12:33 PM
Winching
Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by bhmav8r
I made sure to center the metal clips so as not to rub the rotors.
What clip do you mean?

Ever since I bought mine last year it's had a similar "ringing" or "scraping" sound like you describe. I thought it was a diff but the mechanic said it was likely just the brake pads scraping the rotors. Both have plenty of life left. So I'm also interested in any solutions you may find!

Also, heat after 5-10 miles is not unusual depending on how much braking was done. These trucks are heavy and the brakes do a lot of work.

Old 02-24-2016, 12:41 PM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

permatex makes a brake pad adhesive, that i have always used with good luck.