LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Scan tools - because the LR3 isn't expensive enough.

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2014, 06:36 PM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Scan tools - because the LR3 isn't expensive enough.

Hey all.

I'm very new to the scan tool game - I've always relied on diagnostic ability that my grandfather taught me, and it's served me pretty well so far. Now, it seems, that the LR3 is far beyond my skill, especially when I look at all of the interrelated computer parameters that require, in essence, a one handed monkey to juggle 1,000 ***** while chewing gum to run correctly.

It seems that the basic OBDII boxes are relatively, um, simple when it comes to fully interacting with the computers on the LR3. It leads me to the choices of specialized tools. What people have talked about are these:

AutoEnginuity
RSW
Faultmate
Nanocom

I'm leaning toward the AutoEnginuity. Does anyone have one of these?

I'd like to hear comments on the functionality of the RSW. It seems a bit simpler (and much cheaper.) I don't want something to "get me by," I'd prefer to spend a few extra bucks for the security of knowing that if something happens, I won't have to re-spend an additional amount.

Also, how much different the Faultmate and the Nanocom are. The Blackbox solution website doesn't have a complete functionality list of each of their products, which would help me make an informed decision.

Any help would be appreciated!

Old 01-30-2014, 06:42 PM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts