LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR4 towing / hitch weight for travel trailers

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2020, 11:36 PM
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default LR4 towing / hitch weight for travel trailers

Hi!
New Land Rover owner here..
2012 LR4 HSE and we would like to tow a travel trailer.
How important is it to stay under the 550 lb hitch weight? We found one trailer we like that is 556#!
Has anyone towed over the 550# limit long term? We've seen some conflicting info and my husband contacted Land Rover and they were no help at all..
Thank you!

Last edited by freedom44; 08-22-2020 at 03:01 PM.
Old 07-21-2020, 01:00 AM
5th Gear

Welcome, I dont post much. But, I had to reply here. I also have a 12' LR4, w/ HD package. I've been towing a travel trailer for 2 years now. Little over 20k miles, 31 states, Mexico, and Canada. My rig is weighs in at 6200# with a tongue weight of 600#. I use a Rhino Hitch, OX hitch. It's specifically designed for LR3/4. Class IV hitch with 8,000#, 800# tongue max. I use no weight distribution or sway bar. The LR4 does a great job in tow mode of correcting sway. My rig is near perfect level with my hitch, which has a significant impact on tongue weight, weight distribution and sway. I'm running 255/55R-20 FALKEN WILDPEAK A/T TRAIL XL's with Rhino Rods 2.5 inch lift, Front/Rear Antiroll Bar Clamp Orange POLY Bushings "1BQ". All my control arms, front rear, upper and lower were replaced before i started towing. I also did the transmission sump and filter swap and all diff fluids. Which was at 100K miles. I've helped out a fried when his tow vehicle (F150) had engine trouble and moved a 10k# trailer 120 miles, the LR4 did not squat, or overheat, just dialed up the bias on the trailer brakes and had no problems. Not recommended, obviously, he was blown away as much as i was proud..OH, yes Tekonsha P3 90195 is my favorite brake controller..Its so much easier to use and set up for multiple traile