LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Seemingly unidentifiable issue when temps warm up

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2023 | 04:19 PM
|
1st Gear
Angry Seemingly unidentifiable issue when temps warm up

Forgive me in advance because I am not a car expert. I have a used 120K+ miles 2014 Land Rover LR4 that runs awesome like 7 months out of the year, but when the temperatures start to climb above 50 degrees, I run into an issue where the dashboard lights up and everything faults. Stability control fault, transmission fault, low fuel warning, lowered suspension, HDC fault, special programs off, etc. Sometimes it goes into limp mode, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes if I pull over and shut it off, it resets itself completely and sometimes it keeps the check engine light on. If I don’t shut the car off and it goes into limp mode, won’t accelerate and then all of a sudden it jerks and starts to pick-up speed again, but it doesn’t downshift like it should. I had it looked at by the dealer when this happened for the first time a few weeks after I got it and they said the battery connection was loose; they hooked it back up, it ran fine for basically a year. Next summer rolls around and the problem comes back, but this time it's more frequent and the car isn't recovering as well - going into limp mode more often in the middle of highways and what not. Its now my third summer with the car and the problem is still unresolved and seems to be worse still. My dad is a mechanical engineer by trade and pretty well versed in cars, but even he's stumped. So far, we have:

1. Checked grounds and replaced a couple of wires/connections
2. Replaced the alternator and fixed the sense wire
3. Replaced the battery and the sense module
4. Replaced fuses
5. Tried disconnecting the ABS module
6. Replaced the ECM

But to no avail.