Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Disco HSE - Wifi/Data connectivity issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2018, 08:58 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry New Disco HSE - Wifi/Data connectivity issue

I'm new to LandRoverForums and so far I haven't found an answer for my issues so I figured I'd go ahead and post here.

I have a brand new LR Discovery HSE 2018 which I finally picked up last week. I had it built to my specs with all of the entertainment/connectivity/parking/camera/cruise control bells and whistles. It all added up to the most money (by far) that I have ever spent on a car. I'm hoping that this wasn't a regrettable purchase.

Before I even left the showroom, my sales rep had to stop and reset the car because the park-assist cameras stopped working. Since then the park-assist function and cameras have been working fine. On occasion, I am unable to navigate the control panel (touch panel doesn't respond to input). This resolves with a car restart.

However, I have had no success with internet/data connections. I tried to use the InControl Data Plan through the included AT&T sim card (it comes with a free 3-month trial). When I try to set it up, the car constantly says "Reading SIM". When I try to set it up online through LR's link to AT&T, it says that "there is an issue processing my VIN number" and provides a toll-free number to AT&T. I spent nearly an hour with what I can only assume is a mentally deficient person at AT&T repeating my VIN ad nauseam and being put on hold so she could speak with "tech support". After 45 minutes she informed me that tech support was closed and to call back the next day and/or contact LR. She then asked me if she was able to resolve my issue and if I was happy with my wireless service. I hung up at that time.