New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

1st time LR owner and my list of problems and solutions

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2018, 07:11 AM
Overlanding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1st time LR owner and my list of problems and solutions

Hi everybody!

I've owned my 2006 LR3 HSE 4.4 Bonatti Grey for just over a year now.
It's been the greatest vehicle I've ever owned that has been a pain in my butt since day 1.
I'm addicted to its awesomeness, yet it stresses me out on a daily, weekly, monthly basis.

I'd like to explain I've never been a car/car repair guy before. The LR3 has slightly changed that. I'm no expert or maybe even novice.

I love driving my tank with its rigid steering (no traffic cone test please) and premium gas guzzling all time 4X4.
Somehow it's always been my dream to drive a 7500lb box shaped computer everywhere and anywhere I please...and I didn't even know it!

I've had awesome off road experiences with my LR3. I've had some not so awesome on road experiences.
My LR3 came with coil suspension replacement by the previous owner. It's raised to 9.5" clearance.
My buddy expressed himself in mud rut setting, low gear, uphill struggle while sitting in the passenger experience as: "it's like being on a roller coaster track uphill...click...click...click"

I got lucky on the purchase of my LR. A Dr. was dumping it off cause he heard some banging noise and he was tired of bringing it to the dealership. He gave me a smoking deal to take it off his frustrated hands. I bought my 2006 in 2017 with only 136000km. Since then I've been counting on forums and youtube to save me $.
Banging noise ended up being a stripped spare tire winch, leaving the spare hanging a few inches low.
#1 First LR purchase - Spare tire winch. I believe it was $80ish CAD