New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Need help please

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2015, 04:01 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help please

Hello I am new to this and I have a 1997 discovery and I néed some help please. OK first off it is a very good and clean ride and took very well care of I'm the 2nd owner . I just got it and the owner before me has been drinking it for a while now and I known because I have seen it and I am friends with eh old owner. He came home one day turned it off like normal and the next day went to leave and it wouldn't start and it cranks and crank but won't start . It's got half tank gas and everything seems to be working fine but the oil light is on and check engine light is now on also . Let me ask a dumb question I know some newer and even older cars have this kind of oil sensor that will not allow the engine to start and run at all when the oil is very low does this 97 model have that oil sensor and if not can someone tell me what's the problem with this 96 model please and thank you

Old 11-05-2015, 06:29 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

the oil light will not go off until it have oil pressure, ie motor running.
have to checked the crank shaft position switch

Old 11-06-2015, 06:46 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help

Originally Posted by drowssap
the oil light will not go off until it have oil pressure, ie motor running.
have to checked the crank shaft position switch