Go Back   Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum > Vehicle Line Up > Range Rover
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2010, 01:35 AM

Default GearBox/Transmission Fault "Oh Oh"

First I like to say hi, new to the site. I have a 96/2001 Range Rover 4.6L P38 model I believe. 96 body, 2001 lights, wheels, etc.

OK, I did a boo boo. I was checking out my engine/tranny mounts by power braking. "I know you shouldn't power brake an all wheel drive truck" especially a Range Rover. But I didn't it without thinking. I heard a clink like something broke/snapped. Now I have no 1st gear in D "Drive". If I rev it up it will catch sooner or later. If I throw it in 1st gear it moves fine, then I put it back in D "Drive" and its back to normal again. Every time I stop I must do the same thing. Does anyone know or have an idea what I broke??? I work on my own vehicles for the most part. I'm a marine mechanic, use to be an auto mechanic when I was a kid so I know my way around. Not to familiar with trannys but hopefully its nothing serious because I could only imagine what a rebuilt tranny or gearbox would cost on this. Also when I start her up there is no warnings until I put it in gear "D" and thats when I get the Gearbox Fault warning on the dash. In advance I do appreciate all help in advance guys. Thanks!!!

John
Old 07-05-2010, 08:28 AM

Sounds like you may need a new transmission. The good news is that they are not that expensive due to the fact that they are fairly bulletproof. There are a lot of good used ones out there. Being that you're a mechanic and can do the work yourself, you might get out of this for under $1k. In the future, you might want to save the powerbraking for the high performance cars.

2003 SE7-- 2" Terra Firma lift, 275 70 18 Toyo Open Country tires, ARB Sahara bar with 12k lb winch, HID headlights, Double DIN satnav stereo

Carolina Rover Owners Club (CROC) member