Build Threads Create a build thread to compile pictures and descriptions of your LR build.

Ls3 lr3

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2019, 11:19 AM
6th Gear
Received 10 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Ls3 lr3

Hello all, I was encouraged to post on here to share my build since I know a few people may or may not be interested. I understand this isn't for everyone but hopefully you'll come to understand why I did this.

Background on me. My name is George, I've been doing various car crap for 20+ years now. Started with Hondas(who didn') which luckily only lasted a year or two and moved onto Nissans. I got heavily into drifting and eventually went pro with Formula D. I had a Mazda RX7 that was my competition car which had a built LS6, Jerico dogbox, rollcage, etc, full race car. At this point I've had 20+ cars with just about everything done to them. Life eventually caught up and me and the wife now have 3 kids.....although I still can't stay away from cars. With that we decided to move away from the drift stuff and get something that was more family friendly(meaning, something I can fit the family in). Anyway enough of that.....What you're here for is the Land Rover.

So we decided to buy a Land Rover. The wife really liked LR3's and so did I. They look cool, aren't a jeep/toyota, and I'm always up for a challenge...haha.

She found a 2006 LR3 with 92k miles that had a blown engine. The guy wanted $2k for it so we decided to pick it up. Here it is in all it's (terrible) glory. The wheels, blacked out lights, and mega tint are.....not my style.

We started looking for replacement engine but then decided why not try to LS swap it. I've done LS swaps before(10+ at this point) and I know those engines are easy and robust. So the search began and a local CL find would come up with a complete 2009 Escalade with the L9H(LS3 basically) and 6L80e(6spd) combo. Picked it up for a song and off we went.

Then began the process of trying to merge the two....