Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

97 Disco HG Repair

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2011, 03:26 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default 97 Disco HG Repair

Here's a new thread for the head gasket repair on my 97 Discovery.

Before I get started does anyone have any tips, lessons learned, warnings?

I've never done a head gasket before. Do I just follow the RAVE? or is there another resource I should look at for step by step directions?

I've contacted Paul Grant about a HG kit but if anyone else has any suggested HG sources that'd be great.

Thanks

Old 09-23-2011, 03:45 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Another source for new parts at good prices is Trevor at RovahFarm.

I have not yet had to deal with the HG issue, but I have read a few threads on here regarding it, so do a search and see whjat is already out there.

There is a specific torquing pattern to follow, so make sure you get all that info before you get started.

Also, you will need a long breaker bar to break loose the existing bolts. You want to use a steady application of force with a very long breaker bar to minimize the possibility of breaking any of the existing bolts. The longer the breaker bar, the better.

As others have mentioned, get yourself a big box of large ziplock baggies and a sharpie so you can keep up with what was removed from where. Make good pictures before you tear things down, and at every major point along the way. That will give you something good to refer to later if a question arises as to what was where.

I like to have a big fire, lots of good meat and cold drinks, loud music, and scantily clad women dancing around the fire to appease the Rover Gods but that may not be appropriate in your nice neighborhood.

Old 09-23-2011, 04:37 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts