Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Auto gearbox oil temperature

Old 12-13-2017, 04:31 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Auto gearbox oil temperature

Morning all. Hope you're all good on this frosty day?
I'm a newbie so apologies if the question is a bit lame or has been asked before. I did a quick search but couldn't find what i needed so thought its best to post here.
I recently replaced the auto gearbox oil cooling lines as one had sprung a leak. As they had not been touched for a long time they had fused onto the cooler, which in turn disintegrated.
I bought a new upgrade cooler and new pipes, which are all now fitted. But i would now like to measure the temperature of the fluid in the lines and have a gauge in the cab.
I have seen there's a sensor built into one of the cooler lines, but mine is not connected, would it be a case of buying a gauge and measuring using this sensor or is this just an alarm sensor when its too hot?
My disco is an N reg 300tdi Auto ES

Old 12-13-2017, 03:52 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 129 Likes on 118 Posts

Originally Posted by droidbrew
Morning all. Hope you're all good on this frosty day?
I'm a newbie so apologies if the question is a bit lame or has been asked before. I did a quick search but couldn't find what i needed so thought its best to post here.
I recently replaced the auto gearbox oil cooling lines as one had sprung a leak. As they had not been touched for a long time they had fused onto the cooler, which in turn disintegrated.
I bought a new upgrade cooler and new pipes, which are all now fitted. But i would now like to measure the temperature of the fluid in the lines and have a gauge in the cab.
I have seen there's a sensor built into one of the cooler lines, but mine is not connected, would it be a case of buying a gauge and measuring using this sensor or is this just an alarm sensor when its too hot?
My disco is an N reg 300tdi Auto ES