Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Battery warning light

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2014, 09:07 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery warning light

Yesterday the red battery warning light came on dash. Battery seems fine. terminals tight and clean. Starts up w no problems. Any ideas what to look for?

Old 06-01-2014, 09:31 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 401 Likes on 385 Posts

Check engine block ground straps and all grounds to frame. The light is "Battery Charging" so if all grounding is fine then the alternator is next so check the connections (3) on the back. You could be loosing the alternator.

Old 06-01-2014, 02:46 PM
Rock Crawling

Ok, bought new battery and alternator. I can't get the damn tensioner bolt loose! My box wrench isn't long enough for me to get some torque on it. Can't fit a socket on bolt because the fan is in the way. I know these are dumb questions but I am not a mechanic just have enough tools and knowledge to be dangerous. Please advise you guys that ARE mechanics. I found a breaker bar on auto zone but that's only for sockets.

Is the obvious answer pull the fan off? I hope not!

Old 06-01-2014, 03:47 PM
Super Moderator
Received 210 Likes on 194 Posts

Put box end of wrench on nut. Attach another box end (smaller) to the open end of the first one. You now have an extension to push on

Old 06-01-2014, 04:34 PM
Camel Trophy

3/8" breaker bar comes in handy. Takes I believe a 15mm socket, put it on the pulley bolt head at about at the 10 O'Clock and pull to your right, towards the drivers side of vehicle. Lotsa spring pressure. I usually put my bottle jack handle on the breaker bar and that makes it less than a pound of pull. That loosens belt tension. There should be just enough room to squeeze the socket and breaker in between the fan and belt. Nice they included a removable center in the fan shroud.

Old 06-01-2014, 04:41 PM
Camel Trophy

Originally Posted by dusty1