Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Driveline Play Clunk?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2012 | 10:27 AM
|
Pro Wrench
Default Driveline Play Clunk?

I've noticed lately, and even more with the t-case shifter rubber removed, clunking when transitioning from acceleration to deceleration, and vice versa. It seems to be coming from the driveshaft area and its related play. Is this normal? I greased everything well a month ago.

Old 01-27-2012 | 11:08 AM
Administrator

So, when was the last time you inspected and serviced your U-Joints, how about your t/case, when did you last check the fluid level and change the fluid?
A little clunk is normal.

Old 01-27-2012 | 11:16 AM
|
Pro Wrench

When I greased the U-joints I did a visual inspection looking for anything out of place, though I'm no driveline expert. I tried to rotate the shafts by hand to check for play and they wouldn't budge. I changed the t-case fluid last weekend but it didn't seem to make a difference. Guess I'll have to get under there and really push and prod everything.

Old 01-27-2012 | 11:58 AM
Super Moderator

Might be time to replace U joint(s). Not very epensive, but you'll need a press or a big vise, it'll will need more than two hammers on the patio. Nice write up in tech section for D2 propshaft, parts and techniques very similar.

Old 01-27-2012 | 12:28 PM
Administrator

Did you get grease from the u-joint cups when you greased them, what weight gear oil are you using? It may still be normal and with the rubber boot off you are just hearing more of the noise you normally don't hear.

Old 01-27-2012 | 04:09 PM
|
Pro Wrench

I always grease until I see it come out somewhere. I use 85w-140 in everything.