Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Expedition truck set up- V8 vs diesel

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011 | 05:34 PM
|
4wd High
Default Expedition truck set up- V8 vs diesel

Hello everyone,
My name is Jason im stationed in Jacksonville fl in the navy. I had a few questions about the longevity and reliability of the D1’s drive train. I’m currently working out long term plans for an expedition truck taking cues from the camel trophy trucks. My end goal is to drive the trans American highway, but my major issue is I don’t know if parts are readily available out of the US for the rover v8. If you were traveling out of the country which would you choose our gas engine or the 300tdi? I’m not overly concerned with fuel mileage mostly just reliability I don’t want to break down in bumble*uck nowhere and have to wait days or weeks for a part, or pay an arm and a leg for a V8 part when diesel parts are cheap or vice versa. Is the 300tdi more commonly used worldwide or is the gas v8? I know on deployments I’ve been on diesel engines are extremely popular overseas every country we pulled into it seemed like thats all they drove. Mainly I’m looking for trouble free operation, with proper maintenance of course!!!! Any input yall have would be awesome!

Old 10-03-2011 | 05:35 PM
TReK

Do a search. You are beating a dead horse by starting this topic up. It has been discussed and beaten already many times.

Old 10-03-2011 | 05:44 PM
|
4wd High

i have, i've read tons of posts about 300TDI vs v8, how to do a conversion, how to import them blah blah blah im not trying to get that argument started again im asking which is more widely used outside of the US? and which one might have less problems

Old 10-03-2011 | 06:15 PM
Team Owner

In North America the V8 is THE engine to have, it will be hard to find TDI parts.
I am going to assume this is the same for South America.