Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

fast idle and brake lights

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 06:04 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fast idle and brake lights

Just got my 98 disco last night, Very high mileage and thought it was in decent working order. At least the fluids are very clean, Geting a rover to 260k there must have been lots of fluid changes! LOL! I am having a little problem now.
1st It is idling around 1800 rpm. A friend of mine thinks it is the idle control valve. Could be I just don't know, I am coming from old vw's with carburetors! LOL?
2nd while getting to know my rover the Brakes lights are stuck on now. I was up till midnight playing with it and now my brain is in over drive and eyes sore from looking in the manual on a Iphone. Currently looking at the PDF version my work computer and need help getting to the right section to figure these things out.
Any help would be really appreciate, funny I am not a newbie in VW land but I am surely here. I can do it but will need some kind guiding gurus to help me start out. Looks like a good place to be here on the forum.
thanks
Erick Sowder
Greensboro, NC

Old 01-25-2012, 08:38 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

IACV may need attention (remove, clean with carb cleaner, clean bore it fits in), if you have scanner any codes? Also, if coolant temp sensor is unplugged it will make ECU think it is -40 F. Or just a good old vacuum leak.

Brake light switch under dash is one place to look for the minor problem. See attached from RAVE electrical troubleshooting manual

Attached Files
File Type: pdf
output.pdf063.pdf (507.0 KB, 117 views)
File Type: pdf
output.pdf064.pdf (797.4 KB, 96 views)

Last edited by Savannah Buzz; 01-25-2012 at 08:49 AM.
Old 01-25-2012, 08:48 AM
Drifting