Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

No fuel from the pump.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2013, 12:51 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 117 Likes on 102 Posts
Default No fuel from the pump. FIXED, Fixed again!!

New guy here and I know very little about the world of Land Rovers (be gentle)

I purchased a non-working 97 Discovery (Prod date 2/96) and the previous owner said the fuel pump needs replacement. I got it home and the battery was dead, so I removed it to charge it up. I noticed a number of wires were laying beneath the battery and are now flattened. Not sure where they go to, The fuel pump fuse has a 20 amp fuse,and the gas cap is missing.
I think I read where someone mentioned the gas cap had pressure on it when it was removed. Could it be so simple?? otherwise I will be checking the relay and pump for power.

I was a certified mechanic years ago and I don't have a problem digging in deep if I need to, just want to eliminate the easy stuff first.

My other problem is I don't have an owners manual and there are a lot of buttons and levers in this thing....

Last edited by jimvw57; 11-02-2013 at 04:17 PM.
Old 10-08-2013, 12:57 AM
Super Moderator
Received 210 Likes on 194 Posts

Google. Rave

Old 10-08-2013, 05:42 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

The D1 has pump in the tank, filter under right rear wheel arch. Electric pump driven by multi function relay in plastic box on inner fender aft of battery. Circuit also goes thru an inertia (crash) switch on firewall, reset on top. Draws about 5 amps running. Should run a few seconds at key position 2. Fuel pressure test point (tire valve style) on passenger side fuel rail, expect 32-34 PSI.

The whole factory shop manual, electrical manual, owner manual, etc. is called the RAVE, free download links below.

Old 10-08-2013, 06:46 AM
Super Moderator
Received 226 Likes on 196 Posts