Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Overheating, waterfall sounds, and a/c problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2019, 08:18 AM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheating, waterfall sounds, and a/c problems

Hey all, I bought a 99 discovery 1 back in June. When I got the Disco it had over 200k miles and wasn't running. I've replaced the clutch fan, belt, lower radiator hose, head gaskets, thermostat, IAC valve, and water pump. The car still needs some work but it's running and driving about 40 minutes a day which is a big step up. My major issues are that I've still got overheating and gurgling behind the dash, despite having done everything I could to increase the efficacy of the cooling system. I don't seem to be noticeably losing any coolant, so I don't think there's a leak. I've also tried to bleed the coolant system a few times now, to the point that the expansion tank is now over full, but to no avail. Possibly related problems below.

I've noticed that when you turn the engine on while stone cold, it starts up about 1k rpm, but over time as it warms up drops to just under 750. When it reaches this point (and the temp gauge reaches where it normally sits, a little under 9 o clock) the oil light comes on. Oil pressure seems fine, though I haven’t had it tested, and the oil level isn’t dropping. Nothing too milky on the dipstick either. Also I’ve noticed the rpm doesn’t adjust to account for the a/c. It doesn’t outright kill the engine in park, but it will in reverse, and drags rpms down at idle to where, over time, it may shut off. Due to this I rarely if ever turn on the a/c (thankfully Savannah is finally cooling off with the weather)

im not sure what to do next, so if anyone could give me some direction that’d be a huge help. Thanks.

Old 11-07-2019, 07:25 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 66 Likes on 63 Posts

The water flow sound is due to air in the cooling system.