Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Overland Canadian road trip

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2016, 12:39 AM
4wd Low
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Overland Canadian road trip

I've been working on my Disco(s) for a few years now and never had the nerve to drive more than a few miles from the shop. I decided to get a Roof Top Tent, being Canadian I went with a company out of Alberta called Treeline Outdoors (Treeline Outdoors). I figured why not save on shipping and drive out there and get it (I reside on Vancouver Island, about 1,000km away).

So I bought a stack of Back Road Map Books (http://backroadmapbooks), a GPS, packed a set of spanners along with several other tools, and headed out. I took a southern route through the Rockies to get there. Then headed up through Kananaskis country and returned through the north via Jasper and the Cariboo.

First day went bad. Really Bad. Stopped at a lodge in the middle of a large national park. I got out of the car and looked at my key and only half of it was there. The other half was in the ignition. Long story short, I disassembled the ignition and hitch-hiked with the barrel 120km to a locksmith, got some new keys cut, hitch-hiked back and got it going. Travel with a spare key, people!

Other then overheating my brakes (really really not fun) and one of my cats giving out and making a terrible racket, I/we survived. Also, the tent is seriously awesome, really well made, and makes trips like these so much better.

Just thought I'd share the story and some pics in case anyone needs some inspiration to get out of town.

PS- A whole convoy of Rovers (mostly Discos) honked at me in a tiny town called Clinton (I think). If any of you are reading this send me a message, I'd like to join you next time, travelling alone is a little scary at times.

Old 07-28-2016, 09:01 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 246 Likes on 198 Posts