Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Stalls when put into gear. Any ideas!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2013, 12:55 AM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stalls when put into gear. Any ideas!!!

This is my first time posting. So thanks in advance for the help. I have a 98 Discovery 1 4.0 150,000 miles. I replaced the engine about 4 mo ago with a used one. 108,000 miles on that engine. It was running fine until it sprung a leak in the front cover. Replaced the cover and checked the oil pump. All was fine with that. However when it overheated due to the leak it now has a leak in the head gasket. Will fix that shortly. Now to the most recent problem at hand.

After reading posts about this topic and coming to no conclusion I’m posting here. Engine stalls immediately after putting it into a gear. Reverse or drive. At idle it purrs like a kitten and will never stall. I can give it gas and keep it running while in a gear but not drivable. As soon as you let off the gas Stall… Also when you put it into a gear it sounds like it is trying to suck in much more air. You hear it at the Mass airflow sensor.
I have changed Ignition coils, plugs, wires, Fuel pressure regulator, Relay module Main relay Fuel pump relay, Engine coolant temperature sensor, EVAP purge valve, Crankshaft position sensor, and Idle air control. Fuel pressure is at 28 to 30psi. At this point I’m stumped. Any advice would be appreciated Thanks

Old 03-29-2013, 01:24 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Throttle position sensor. Tells ECU butterfly throttle valve opening angle. You'll see resistance from it bounce all over, like a dirty volume control on an AM radio.

Old 03-29-2013, 09:45 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts