Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 Discovery..newb seeking advice

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2012, 09:41 AM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2003 Discovery..newb seeking advice

I have been researching Discovery's for some time and have finally decided to get one. I am a strong hobby mechanic with a lot of experience in general.

I have pretty much narrowed my search to 1997 or 1998 models based on what I have learned so far, but I'm open to any clean, well kept and well documented D1.

Here is my Dilemma:

I stumbled across a really clean 2003 D2 that is a "pig in a poke". It shows very well, looks like it was never off road, no rust, interior is near perfect, exterior is great except for damage to the passenger side headlamp assembly ( it needs replaced). The underside of the rig looks really clean, no rust or corrosion, just some typical light road grime/dust. It has 153k mi.

Here is the kicker. It will not start. The Bettery is dead. When I hook it up with a set of jumper cables and do some tests, everything appears to work, but when I go to crank it, the starter does something I have never encountered. I sounds like the starter motor is turning slowly as if under a significant load, but not turning the engine over at all. I cannot here the bendix move at all either.

What scares me is the possibility that the engine is seized, but I more suspect something is wrong with the starter. Like I said "pig in a poke".

Anyway, I'm inclined to walk away from this even though I can get it for dirt cheap. Of course I have to dive into the deal and haul its dead carcass into my shop before I can troubleshoot it. It is ridiculously cheap which entices me, but if it ends up with major issues, it will no longer be cheap!

If anyone has any advice regarding how I can confirm there are no huge issues, that would be good, but at the end of the day I think I should stick to my original plan.