Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Crank/No-start Issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2018, 04:34 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Crank/No-start Issue

Hi. I have been researching this forum and everything else I could find for weeks, to try to figure out how to fix my non-starting 2003 Discovery. First, I should say this: I have ZERO experience with auto repairs. Sending her out like I've always done in the past just isn't an option right now.

Several weeks ago, I had driven the truck for 3 short round-trips one evening. The next afternoon, she wouldn't start. All the lights come on, she cranks and cranks, but will not start. I had not noticed anything unusual prior to this. Added gas, just in case, as the light had come on the previous eve- no dice. After MANY tries, I DID get her started several days later- drove around for just a few minutes- everything was perfectly fine. Have not gotten her started again.

The inertia switch hasn't been tripped
The fuses and relays seemed to be fine
The hazards didn't come on; no alarm-related symptoms

(My keyfob buttons broke a long time ago- so I've always used my key to lock the drivers door when I needed to. I imagine the keyfob battery IS dead now- but I'm assuming that wouldn't cause this problem???) I've received a new keyfob case, but don't have the micro-switches or battery yet.

I got the fuel pump uncovered so my neighbor could test it- first was told it WAS getting power fine, then told that it wasn't getting ENOUGH power (only 5 volts). He felt like it was a fuel issue, not a spark issue. The battery died a couple times throughout all of this- and the second time it wouldn't hold a charge.