Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bent valley gasket

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2010, 08:05 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bent valley gasket

I've been battling intermittent coolant loss and puddles for about 9 months so decided to dig into my '00 II to replace the lower intake manifold gasket, assuming it's leaking. I did discover (ain't that why they call it a Discovery) evidence of coolant under the manifold, which was expected, but I also found the valley gasket to be more a mountain gasket. The center of it looks like it was pushed or blown up from underneath. Strangest thing. Also, the coating on the top surface of the gasket is coming off in flakes. I must admit that my son did drive the truck home from school many months ago with the red overheated light on so maybe it got so hot the gasket warped/expanded. But the truck starts, idles, runs and drives excellent -- both before and after the overheat incident. I have perspiration but not steam in the exhaust, the oil cap does not show foam and the exhaust has no coolant smell. I know folks will say I'm guaranteed to have a trashed motor by now or at least warped heads but I'll save that for another dissasemble.
My question remains - why would the lower intake gasket be raised in the middle? I would like reassurance before installing the new one and reassembling everything else. Many thanks for your suggestions.

Old 08-07-2010, 09:54 PM
TReK
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Overheating will do weird things to materials like de-laminate the composite coating on your valley gasket. Fix your truck before you kill it.

Old 08-07-2010, 10:22 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts