Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Body control module trouble

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2012, 06:48 PM
nik
Overlanding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Body control module trouble

Hello, I will start by saying that I am new to this Rover thing. I can say that for the short time that I actually got to drive the truck,I really liked it. Sort of a mix of a early 90s Land Cruiser and late 70s Scout 2, seemed like fun. I had gotten all of the basic new (to me) car bits and pieces, plugs, wires, oil change, air filter,battery, and had started putting together stuff to do the maintenance from the major service thread. I changed the battery, with no issue, fortunately missing the potential problems which I read about after the fact, involving the alarm and other electronics. It was all going so well.

Then the fun stopped, I noticed that the drivers door would not respond to either the center lock button or the key fob. All other doors were working fine. After getting back home, I tried to lock the door with the key. And yes it worked, but it also turned on the alarm. The horribly invasive, deeply rooted alarm, that will not turn off, or let the engine crank.

After a bit of homework, and some help from Atlantic British, I changed out the driver's door lock actuator, disconnecting the battery about 2 minutes into the project. The rest of the swap went smoothly, in a far more peaceful state of mind. I did notice that the new part had 7 pins in the elec. connector while the old one had 8. but all of the part numbers matched, so I went ahead.

No, it can't be that easy, the alarm still won't die, so a bit more homework, and a few things that seemed closer to witchcraft than auto mechanics (universal eka codes, disconnect and reconnect battery with key in position 2...) Still no luck.