Can I install Harmon Kardon system in place of base stock system? - Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Go Back  Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum > Land Rover > Discovery II
Reload this Page >

Can I install Harmon Kardon system in place of base stock system?

Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Can I install Harmon Kardon system in place of base stock system?

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-29-2010, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I install Harmon Kardon system in place of base stock system?

Hey guys - I was curious if I can easily install the HK audio system out of a Disco 2 into my "non-HK" Disco 2, or if there are a bunch of wiring issues that I'll run into. Does anyone know? The HK audio system sounds nice, but mine sucks. Thoughts?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2010, 02:32 PM
Disco Mike's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 25,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Yes but it will be expensive, you would be better off buying a good after market radio and speakers.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2010, 06:41 PM
00&04 Disco's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I did this in my 2000 Disco. It had the Phillips stereo in the doors and i got the HK speakers to replace them, the only catch was the plugs were wired different. They had the same wiring harness but the wires were in the wrong spots so I took the small wiring harness apart that connects the speakers to the harness with a needle nose pliers and put the plugs in the right spots and put them back together and plugged them in and they work great. Yours should work also. Good luck!
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2010, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southwest Michigan
Posts: 235
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have (had) the base stock system. I bought an aftermarket amp and the upgraded DII radio and it sounds 10 times better than the stock one did. I think it cost me $100 for the radio and amp.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2010, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, so if I already have the speakers, do I just swap all those out or do I swap out an amplifier as well? Long story short I have a Disco 2 parts truck that has the HK audio system, so I can access all the pieces....I just need to know what to replace. All the speakers should fit the same (other than the one comment about the wire connectors being different) but do I need to switch out an amplifier somewhere, and if so, are those connections the same? Thanks -
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:19 PM
00&04 Disco's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

If you have the HK amp I would just put it in the hookups should all be the same. I kept the stock amp and it still sounds good.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the info - I'll give it a shot! The phillips (or whatever it is) stereo system sounds awful....
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2010, 12:18 AM
00&04 Disco's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

agreed!
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
oilspotLR
Discovery II
21
05-17-2015 06:36 PM
ajh
Private For Sale/Trade Classifieds
2
10-21-2007 05:59 PM
Nokeman
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
08-13-2007 06:18 PM
kay
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
0
12-09-2006 03:37 AM
Crusoe
Discovery II
2
04-08-2006 10:28 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory