Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Clicking""Chuffing" sound in D2

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2013, 03:08 PM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default "Clicking""Chuffing" sound in D2

I have a metallic clicking sound from the valve cover on the right bank. Flashing engine light and slightly rough idle. I think Im getting more exhaust gasses out of the filler but it looks like the pcv is working fine apart from the broken separator. I'm leaning heavily towards a bad rocker/spring .I want to repair it myself so I do not have to spend $2000+ dollars at the dealer. I would like to know if any special tools are needed to remove the bad spring/rocker(can i remove it?). I have taken the air intake off before to do the leads etc. I have a 12 point socket 8mm for the valve cover and I am a machine mechanic by trade but I'm worried about those hidden issues and a mad wife come Monday morning!! Please do not tell me I have to take the head off to maybe remove a bent valve!! Aghh
I have my rubber valve cover gaskets and my nice new shinny oil separator which needs the old one to be removed first. And maybe a spare spring and rocker arm. Anything else that this driveway mechanic might need?

Lots of help will be greatly appreciated and I can share with everybody how it went and my 5 years of land rover fixes

Thanks

Last edited by amybc96; 09-25-2013 at 08:27 PM.
Old 09-25-2013, 09:37 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

The RAVE has a write up on the valve spring issue, it that is what the problem is. Many auto parts stores loan a workable tool for that. Once valve cover is off, there are four bolts that hold on the rocker arm assembly.

But... I had a chuffing sound which turned out to be an exhaust leak out the side of the head gasket (full HG job required). You can take a piece of rubber hose, hold one end to ear and move other end along edge of head to locate the source.

Old 09-26-2013, 08:31 AM