Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering a 1999 Discovery II

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2016, 08:38 AM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering a 1999 Discovery II

I am new to Land Rovers, but not new to working on vehicles. You all seem very knowledgeable as I read through the forum. I am hoping you can help me. I am looking at purchasing a 1999 Discovery II. The previous owner says he took it to the dealer and it needs a new ECU. My question, what am I getting myself into? I am thinking I can buy a matching pair ECU/BCM and swap them in. I am assuming I will need to purchase a programmer or take the vehicle to someplace that can sync them. If I get the vehicle for the right price I am thinking the swap and programming would be around $500.

Am I close to the ballpark?

What else should I be looking at when I inspect the vehicle? Anything that is a RUN AWAY thing?
Thank you in advance!

Old 03-21-2016, 09:04 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 943 Likes on 634 Posts

If you swap the ECU, BCU, and instrument cluster together then you'll have no problems. You can buy complete sets from Abran (one of the forum members). That way you wont need a programmer. If you only swap the ECU, you will need a programmer. I believe the iCarsoft is the cheapest option that will do ECU/BCU/Instrument Cluster syncing, but I could be wrong. Check with Abran, he'll hook you up.

The following users liked this post:
abran (03-21-2016)
Old 03-21-2016, 09:32 AM
6th Gear

Thank you, do you think my budget is reasonable? I cant look up Abran yet, I don't have permission yet, but thank you for the reference.

Old 03-21-2016, 09:44 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts
The following users liked this post:
abran (03-21-2016)
Old 03-21-2016, 10:13 AM
TReK
Received 761 Likes on 629 Posts