Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant Tank cracked; replacing & bleeding help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2023, 08:19 PM
4wd High
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Coolant Tank cracked; replacing & bleeding help!

Hi all - I'm no Disco expert like some of you, but pretty handy. 2004 Discovery 2 help needed!

The bottom plastic connection point on my coolant reservoir expansion tank snapped off and coolant was pissing everywhere when I parked it. Replacing the tank itself looks straightforward, part should be arriving in a day or two - what has me a little stressed is the bleeding of the system. Any step-by-step instructions on how to do this effectively? Is it 100% mandatory to do it when replacing the tank?

Any advice is much appreciated!

Old 01-15-2023, 08:30 PM
TReK
Received 557 Likes on 483 Posts

Yes you need to bleed it. I’m not going to try to remember the sequence but it’s not difficult. The LR Workshop manual is very good. If you search for a thread on this forum from WaltNYC, he has links in his signature to all the manuals.

Old 01-15-2023, 09:32 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 280 Likes on 182 Posts

There are million ways to skin the cat when it comes to the bleeding the cooling system. They all work in one way or another. The RAVE has a good- albeit a bit difficult- process.

But the main thing to accept is it probably won’t get fully bled in one shot. It usually takes me a few days to get all the bubbles out (I just did the water pump in mine, and I’m on day 2 of bleeding). You’ll get most of the way there the first time, but just expect to have a few more bubbles to get out over the next few days.

Old 01-15-2023, 09:40 PM
4wd High
Received 1 Like on 1 Post