Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Could a coolant leak into the engine ruin the engine completely?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 02:46 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Could a coolant leak into the engine ruin the engine completely?

Hi all,

This is my first time posting and I'm admittedly a complete car novice. I drove a 2003 Disco with ~80k miles on it. Recently I was driving home from work when I started to notice a heavy rumble whenever I was idle (at a stop light, stop sign, etc.). I didn't think much of it but just wanted to get home and then get it to the shop on the next Monday. As I continued driving, I noticed that my heat gauge on my dashboard was rising until eventually the light turned red and the check engine light started intermittently flashing/staying lit. As soon as I got home I stopped driving, and waited for a tow today. However, this morning my mechanic (Road Britannia in Atlanta, GA; a couple of guys who used to work for Land Rover and now specialize in Land Rover repairs at a discount to the dealership) let me know that because of the issue I had 3 options: sell my vehicle for scrap, invest in a used engine, or invest in a new engine! He explained that somehow the coolant had gotten into the engine (and he also explained that it was in piston 6 and piston 3 but not in piston 1 which I didn't understand but may be helpful for you all) and that it pretty much had ruined the engine. Does this seem viable? It was running fine until last Friday and even then the car seemed to run normal as long as I wasn't idling. Any help is much appreciated.

________
Charlie
2003 Discovery, 80K Miles
________

Old 04-30-2012, 02:54 PM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts

You should never drive it when over heating. You should have stopped before you got home, and waited for a tow.