Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco 2000 service engine light problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2010, 12:19 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco 2000 service engine light problems

Hi all~ I'm new to this and all other forum-ventures, so bear with me! I have a question about my 2000 Discovery II. Bought the truck about 6 months ago with 96k on it, no service records. I have solved a suspension prob by searching the forum. I think my air springs are blown, probably switching to coils as it's an asphalt baby...

After I bought it, SES light would come on and off periodically, seemed to depend on what gas I used - it would come on if I got 93 from Shell, and go off if I got 91 from 7-11. The other night on the way home from work the light started blinking at me, but would stop blinking and go solid on if I got over 65mph. Pulled the codes and had misfires, so changed plugs and wires yesterday. Today light is still flashing, with same result at highway speed. Pulled codes again, have

P0304
P0300
P0308
P0304
P1300
P1590

Mechanic suggested possible bad coil(s). I don't want to just throw money and parts at this until it's maybe fixed. Any suggestions would be a huge help!

Oh, I just had a terrible thought... My hubby got the oil changed about 300 miles before I started having this problem. My mechanic told me that if you put a different kind of oil in it that it has been used to it could kill it - could that be the problem??? We don't know what kind of oil the previous owner used, as we have no records! On that note, anything else I need to be mindful of for upcoming maintenance?

Old 12-21-2010, 03:12 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Bet you still have the factory grey plug wires!!!!
You need to do a tune up along with all the stuff I have listed, on a sticky, at the top of the Discovery section so your truck is current.