Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco I Steering Play / Dead Spot

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 12:21 AM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco I Steering Play / Dead Spot

I've searched around for this, and the plain fact of it is that I'm still not sure what's happening with my steering... forgive me if this has been discussed already.

I bought my Discovery only a few weeks ago (so I don't know it that well), and there's some play in the steering. It doesn't pull in either direction, but there's nothing happening between maybe 10 and 12 on the steering wheel. You can leave the wheel straight and it'll drive straight, and you can turn it left as far as maybe 10 o'clock before it'll start turning left. Turn it back again to go right and nothing will happen until it gets back to 12 o'clock again.

I'm not a mechanic at all, so I didn't know what to look for. I did find one thing, as pictured in my attached photos. I've drawn in an arrow to represent the part that I think is loose. I can reach down and rotate it in the direction pictured with my hand... it seems to match up with that 10-12 o'clock dead spot.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? As much as I love my LR, it's extremely irritating to drive right now.

Thanks for any help.

Attached Thumbnails Disco I Steering Play / Dead Spot-img_3187.jpg   Disco I Steering Play / Dead Spot-img_3189.jpg  
Old 05-26-2010, 06:55 AM
Mudding

swivel pin preset, you will need to download the rave manual from this site and print out the directions for your mechanic.......this is a very basic design with shims that need rearranged to compensate for the slack.

Look under the sticky posts in the forum, you will find the rave download, a manual to your vehicle.

Old 05-26-2010, 07:57 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts