Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front / Timing Cover Leak / Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2012, 06:04 PM
Drifting
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Front / Timing Cover Leak / Replacement

Hello all,

I have a 2002 Disco II with 130,000 miles.

I'm in the middle of doing the front cover gasket replacement as I have a coolant leak coming from the top drivers side of the front/timing cover.

I have the rave manual and viewed as many threads as I can find regarding this topic. I've looked for videos on the web but have found nothing regarding a 4.0 V8 Land Rover engine still in the truck.

I think I'm at the point where your help is needed. I have the viscus fan off, the oil sump and oil pick-up removed and I'm about to go after the Camshaft Nut/Bolt.

I'm taking it slow, one step at a time and appreciate any information you can give as It's my first time working on the engine.

Step I need your help with:

Seal - Cover - Timing Gears

I don't have tool LRT-12-080 and I'm wondering what's the best way to loosen the bolt with an automatic gearbox? Do I need to leave the Serpentine Belt on to allow tension? Can I step on the breaks and use a pry bar? Or do I need to remove the radiator in order to fit an impact gun on it?

I have read all these methods work, just not sure what works best.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

The following users liked this post:
Brendon H (12-27-2019)
Old 01-30-2012, 06:22 PM
Drifting

Well, I'm going back out to the garage to see what I can figure out...

Old 01-30-2012, 06:28 PM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

the timing chain will hold the camshaft in order for you to break the bolts free, now if it is the "crankshaft" bolt; it is easiest to remove befor you that the belt off. But if the belt is off you can fit an impact gun up there by removing just the fan schord.

Old 01-30-2012, 07:35 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts